UCI faculty and teaching assistants were recognized for their excellence in undergraduate teaching at the 24th Annual Celebration of Teaching. This event was sponsored by the Academic Senate Council on Teaching, Learning, & Student Experience (CTLSE) and the Vice Provost for Teaching & Learning, and was hosted by the Center for Engaged Instruction (CEI).

Founded in 1992, the Celebration of Teaching honors outstanding instructors at UCI. To date over 300 professors, lecturers, and TAs have been recognized by their colleagues and students for exemplary teaching.

There were two categories of awards presented Thursday, May 4, 2017, in the University Student Center. The first of which is the Campuswide Awards. Recipients are selected by members of the Academic Senate Council on Student Experience and members of the groups providing the monetary awards. Selections are based on campuswide nominations from peers, colleagues, and students.

The second category of awards are for those selected by their Deans as Deans’ Honorees for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and the 2015-2016 Pedagogical Fellows selected by the Center for Engaged Instruction.

The winners of the 2017 Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching are being honored this year with more than beautifully engraved plaques. The 2017 Celebration of Teaching winners can now be seen on banners around campus. The new banners have been placed around the Aldrich Hall quad, bus turnaround, and Physical Sciences quad.

“With our undergraduates population increasing, it is essential that the university continue to honor and support teachers who are making significant impact through their dedication and passion,” said Michael Dennin, Dean of Undergraduate Education and Vice Provost of Teaching and Learning. “We are excited to recognize this year’s award winners in a special way by showcasing them on banners to be seen by all students.”

The following recipients have been honored with commemorative banners:

Professor of the Year;

  • Renee Link, Chemistry

Lecturers of the Year;

  • Maryse Mijalski, School of Humanities – European Languages & Studies
  • Ray Klefstad, Computer Science

Instructional Technology Innovation Award;

  • Brad Hughes, Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences – Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Teacher’s Aid Professional Development Award;

  • Angela Jenks, School of Social Sciences – Anthropology

Congratulations to all of the recipients. Your dedication to excellence in teaching is a large part of what makes UCI such a supportive and dynamic educational ecosystem.