Academic engagement is an important part of UCI’s Campuswide Honors Program (CHP), but many honors students also attribute their success to the CHP’s tight knit community of dedicated and engaged students.

Or as CHP third-year Camille A. says, “CHP students aim high, and they are supportive of each other in reaching their goals.  Being surrounded by these amazing individuals has inspired me to always try my best to be exceptional in every aspect of life.”

The CHP’s supportive learning community helps honors students make the most of their time at UCI, in part by emphasizing getting involved and giving back to the campus.  It is this commitment to UCI that makes CHP students great candidates for the Chancellor’s Award of Distinction and why it comes as no surprise that 11 of the recipients in 2017 were members of the CHP.

This year, there were 38 total recipients of the 2017 Chancellor’s Award of Distinction, chosen by alumni to best represent each of UCI’s academic schools. This small group of awardees represent some of UCI’s most outstanding graduating seniors.

In addition to being academically successful, students who receive the award are expected to “have shown exemplary character while devoting their time and talents to benefit the UCI campus community through research, leadership or service.”

Award recipients were honored at a celebratory dinner hosted by Chancellor Gillman at Tierney University House with an award certificate signed by the Chancellor. They were also given a blue and gold cord to be worn at Commencement, and were listed in the commemorative Commencement program.

The 11 students Campuswide Honors Students who received the Chancellor’s Award of Distinction were:

  • Joshua Cook, Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological and Physical Sciences
  • Lucile Dillon, Claire Trevor School of the Arts
  • Nida Fatima, Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences
  • Stephanie Gonzalez, School of Education and School of Social Ecology
  • Christine Hua, Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences
  • Adam Keppler, Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
  • Diana Magana, School of Education and School of Humanities
  • Sarah Sakr, School of Social Ecology
  • Malcolm Su, Henry Samueli School of Engineering
  • Emma Walsh, Claire Trevor School of the Arts and School of Education
  • Alice Yang, Claire Trevor School of the Arts and School of Social Ecology

“Seeing so many CHP students receive this high recognition shows the effectiveness of the Campuswide Honors Program,” said Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education Michael Dennin.

A look at the CHP class of 2017 also showcases the positive impact of the CHP curriculum and community.

The Campuswide Honors Program supports student success in all areas of life whether personal, academic, and professional. Please join us in honoring these graduating recipients of the Chancellor’s Award of Distinction and the many accomplishments of the CHP class of 2017!


“Chancellor’s Award of Distinction.” UCI Alumni. UC Regents, 2017. 15 August 2017.

About the Campuswide Honors Program: Founded in 1988, the CHP is an academic program dedicated to promoting high standards of scholastic excellence and personal growth by combining the qualities of a liberal arts college with the unique opportunities offered by a major research university.  For more on the CHP, visit